Barnet Football Club



Eight Academy graduates sign first pro deals!

Barnet FC are delighted to announce the signing of eight Academy products on one-year professional deals.

Putting pen to paper for the Bees are defenders Joe Gater and Charlie Kennedy, as well as Harry Taylor who led the Youth Team as captain last season and was named as Academy Player of the Year.

Joining them are midfielders Wesley Fonguck and Fumnaya Shomotun as well as three attackers in Justin Nwogu, Ryan Gondoh and Shane Cojocarel, who netted an impressive 23 goals for the U18s last season.

Having signed their first full-time deals with the club, all eight will now remain at The Hive until at least June 2016, along with full-back Tamille Roache who agreed a contract back in January.

The scholars leaving the club are goalkeeper Jack Ryan; defenders Keir Dickson and George Berkes; midfielders Elliot Harris, Mohammed Diaby, Alfie Cain and Jhonnatan Castiblano; and forwards Brian Testolin and Jake Knight.

Everybody at Barnet FC would like to thank all of the departing players for their considerable efforts for the club – not least in helping to win the Football League Youth Alliance South East division title last season – and we would like to wish them all the very best of luck for the future.

Meanwhile, graduating to become second-year scholars are goalkeeper Kai McKenzie-Lyle; defenders Brendan Ocran and Hakeem Odofin; midfielders Jack Taylor, Nana Kyei and Louie Leong; and forwards Mathew Stevens, George Booker and Carlito Lawton.

Finally, making the step up to become first-year scholars are Joe Payne, Ephron Mason-Clark, Daniel Cheema, Aaron Grimshaw and Darnell Smith ahead of what promises to be another exciting season for the Barnet FC Academy.