Barnet Football Club



Match Report: Barnet 2 – 1 Luton Town

A late penalty from John Akinde gave Barnet victory over Luton Town, in front of a crowd of over 4000 at The Hive. 
Luke Gambin drilled a low effort past Hatters keeper Jonathan Mitchell, to put the Bees ahead in the 49th minute.
But Luton equalised with six minutes left to play, when Cameron McGeehan slotted home from close range.
It was Barnet who won all three points though – Akinde converting an injury time spot kick, after a handball from Scott Cuthbert. 
The first clear chance of the match fell to Luton in the 21st minute – McGeehan’s shot was palmed away by Graham Stack, before being cleared to safety by Alie Sesay. 
Barnet won a free kick mid way inside the Luton half on 30 minutes, and Andy Yiadom’s delivery from distance flew narrowly wide of the right post. 
McGeehan’s shot was saved well by Stack five minutes before the break, as the Hatters had the better chances of a quiet first half. 
However it was the Bees who found themselves ahead, early in the second period. 
Gambin cut in from the right wing in the 49th minute, before powering a shot into the bottom left corner of the net.
Luton pushed for an equaliser and had a succession of corners mid way through the second half. 
Jonathan Rea connected with a Paddy McCourt delivery in 64th minute, but James Pearson headed his goal bound effort over the bar. 
An 81th minute McCourt shot was blocked by Michael Nelson, before Alan Sheehan dragged a low effort wide of the right post. 
Luton were level three minutes later – Cuthbert’s header was saved by Stack, but he couldn’t stop McGeehan pouncing on the rebound to bring Town back into the game.
The match looked set to end in a draw, but Cuthbert’s last minute handball inside his own area gave Akinde the chance to win the game.
The Bees forward calmly slotted the spot kick into the bottom left corner, to give Martin Allen’s side a hard-earned win.
Barnet travel to Morecambe’s Globe Arena next Saturday – kick off 3pm. 
BARNET: Stack, Pearson, Nelson, Sesay, Muggleton, Yiadom ©, Togwell, Weston (Vilhete 76’), Gambin (N’Gala 67’), Gash (Stevens 90’), Akinde.

Subs Not Used: Stephens, Champion, Taylor, Shomotun.