Barnet Football Club



York City v Barnet


Attendance: 3,594 (311 Barnet)

Barnet secured a massive three points as Jake Hyde came off the bench to earn a 2-1 win over York City.

The Bees made a sluggish start to the game and York made them pay as Michael Rankin opened the scoring but the away side hit back through Andy Yiadom shortly after.

Barnet started the match slowly and just like the visit to the Pirelli Stadium they were punished.

With seven minutes played on loan Burton Albion midfielder John McGrath swung a free-kick into the box and fellow loanee Rankin turned the ball home.

Eleven minutes later the Minstermen had another good opportunity but Matty Blair was denied by Graham Stack.

The Bees responded well and had their first opportunity after 21 minutes when Michael Ingham denied new signing Craig Beattie.

Three minutes later the scores were level when Yiadom bundled John Oster’s free-kick over the line.

The home side rarely had a touch for the remainder of the half and the Bees dominance almost paid off when Chiro N’Toko diverted the ball over the bar.

Barnet picked up where they left off in the second-half with Jon Nurse picking up the ball from Yiadom before shooting just wide.

With 66 minutes played Hyde replaced Beattie in the Bees attack and it did not take him long to make an impact.

Six minutes after entering the field of play the forward curled the ball into the bottom corner from just outside box to send the 311 travelling Bees fans wild.

The Bees were forced to play the final stages with just ten men after Bondz N’Gala and Nurse both picked up injuries with no substitutes available.

The pressure was immense and Jonathan Smith almost levelled in added time when his flick bounced off the crossbar.

It was not to be for the home side however and the Bees held on for a terrific away win.

BARNET: Stack; Fuller, Stephens, N’Toko (N’Gala 80), Brown (Johnson 46), Byrne, Davids, Oster; Nurse, Yiadom; Beattie (Hyde 66).

Subs not used: Kamdjo, Weston, Barnes, Lopez.

YORK CITY: Ingham; Parslow, Smith, O’Connell, Fyfield; Obeng, Kerr (Everson 79), McGrath, Chambers (Rodman 56), Blair, Rankine (Walker 69).

Subs not used: Musselwhite, Allen, Potts,, McLaughlin.